AMD likes four

Posted by Kathleen Maher on February 26th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

couple of months ago we reviewed AMD’s 4x4, possibly the most powerful machine that one can still call a PC. Now AMD has brought out the RS690 chipset, and among its many features the one that caught my eye (no pun intended) is the ability to drive four displays—another four for AMD.

Getting back to the future

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 26th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

As your official old-fart, been there-done-that curmudgeon, I’m happy to report that the PC has finally caught up with the Commodore PET (Personal Electronic Transactor) computer I used to write my thesis on back in 1980.

Mod this, dude

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 26th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

In a recent Mt. Tiburon Testing Labs story (rFactor encore), Ted Pollak, our super-duper, super gamer analyst, goes nuts for a racing game mod (and it is pretty damn spectacular, if I do say so). I, however, went for a FPS.

rFactor encore

Posted by Ted Pollak on February 26th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Ted Pollak

Since downloading the top mods for the previously reviewed “rFactor” I find it necessary to continue. Fantastic is the only word that comes to mind.

Sandio’s Game O 3D mouse

Posted by Kathleen Maher on January 8th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

The Sandio Game O 3D gaming mouse is a well-designed device that incorporates three mini-joysticks for either six degrees of freedom in 3D applications, or whatever the user custom-programs them to do. Other features of the mouse include a removable palm rest base and two additional programmable buttons, which when pressed in unison cycle the mouse on the fly through four dpi settings ranging from 400 to 2000.

NEC omnibus display

Posted by Kathleen Maher on January 8th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

NEC invented the multisync monitor in 1985—22 years ago. The company was king of the hill for computer monitors for a long, long time, but slowly lost market share to aggressive Taiwanese monitor companies like LLLL and in 2000 merged with long-time rival Mitsu-bishi. NEC was also one of the first to bring out LCD monitors.

So you wannabe a race car driver?

Posted by Ted Pollak on January 8th 2007 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review
Tags:

Ted Pollak

Formula One Grand Prix (F1) is the king of racing. It’s not necessarily the most competitive, but indeed it is the king. F1 hosts the fastest “turning” cars known to man. Unlike their open-wheeled Indy brethren, they are not mandated to use the exact same engine (currently Honda), and unlike the perplexingly popular NASCAR vehicles, they can turn sharply at speed … both ways, and do it in the rain.

Photoshop reloaded – make that Adobe reloaded

Posted by Kathleen Maher on December 4th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

As we have commented here before, the acquisition of Macromedia by Adobe has brought on a fundamental change in Adobe’s corporate culture—not to mention its software architecture. We’ve been seeing this evolution from the very start as the Macromedia San Francisco headquarters became part of the Adobe empire and a very desirable place to work. At a meeting of the combined staff Adobe’s executives told Macromedia’s engineers they’d welcome Macromedia’s input in streamlining Adobe’s code. But, to the outside world, the most obvious effect of the merger has been the adoption of the model of the Macromedia Labs idea. Now it’s Adobe Labs. As selected software is developed and becomes at least moderately stable, it’s uploaded to the Labs site and is accompanied by developer blogs and forums. The result is that thousands and thousands of people participate in a very active beta-testing program.

Beauty and the beast

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 6th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

We get our hands on Playstation 3 as well as AMD’s 4x4

This week we got to play with two black beauties, one a monster, the other smaller but almost equally powerful. I’m talking abut an AMD 4x4 and a Sony PS3; read on.

Pure Foto Magic, a mini USB TV tuner, and how (not) to download movies

Posted by Kathleen Maher on November 6th 2006 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

I know, some of you think the “F” in PFM stands for something else, and it does, but in this case it stands for both—read on … This is a sad story with a happy ending.