Adobe’s CS4 features major changes for photographers

Posted by Kathleen Maher on September 29th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Adobe has been readying the market for its new CS4 lineup of software products for months now and anticipation is high. This is a performance release as well as a feature release, although we saw a few features that are going to need a little more work. This fast review is a quick overview concentrating primarily on the imaging tools. We will follow up with a look at the other modules as soon as we catch our breath.

Does Google Chrome shine?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

So I did it, not on day one but by day three I downloaded Chrome and tried it. I still use it occasionally to see if there are any changes or upgrades, but basically it’s not impressive. It’s a little faster, hardly noticeable, than Firefox, and anything is faster than IE7, but who cares because no power user uses it anyway.

HP 2133 Mini Note struts its stuff

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

We first saw a Mini Note in early 2007 when our friends from VIA came to visit and brought some demos with them. It was an interesting device and, as usual, VIA was way ahead of the pack. In fact, VIA has almost always been ahead of the pack but they fail to win the prize when the pack catches up with them. This time it’s different and the Mini Note from HP is a design win triumph for VIA and a product win for HP.

Roxio Creator 2009

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

There are five companies that are offering multimedia suites: Adobe, Avid/Pinnacle, Corel/Ulead, CyberLink, and NTI. I suspect Microsoft will soon be an entry into this category, and there are some other brands that have bits and pieces.

Just how fast is SSD?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

Samsung has been annoying us with PR emails about their solid-state drives for almost a year now. Finally, we had enough and said put up or shut up. They put up and sent us a 15.4-inch Lenovo T60p ThinkPad laptop ($2,438.) What the hell are we going to do with this, Robert asked? Kathleen also was puzzled. The cats got on to test for warmth and softness and abandoned it.

YABM – yet another benchmark

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

We bought a nifty performance test program from PassMark. (See the mention of it in this in the review of the Lenovo ThinkPad.) It’s a full suite of tests, and totally affordable ($24.) Included in the suite is a 2D and a 3D test set. They run on DirectX 9.

ATI takes the flag

Posted by Kathleen Maher on August 18th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

TI launched their new dual-GPU AIB, the Radeon HD 4870 X2, and reclaimed the flag from Nvidia with regard to performance. The timing couldn’t be better—occurring at Siggraph and nicely sidestepping the noise of the Intel Developer Forum and Nvision—not just a coincidence and certain to have an impact on both of those commercial events as well as the IEEE HotChips conference at Stanford.

HP TouchSmart

Posted by Jon Peddie on August 18th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

This is the most impressive entertainment PC I have ever seen, and I think I may have invented the term EPC back in 1999 when I said we would have this kind of capability by 2003—oops.

ATI and Nvidia chips

Posted by Kathleen Maher on July 28th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Now that the dust and hysteria have settled, we thought this was a good time take a look at the two new competing architectures from the leading GPU suppliers.

Adobe blends Flash with Acrobat in Acrobat Pro

Posted by Kathleen Maher on July 28th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Adobe’s CS3 brought new interoperability between the company’s product lines, especially by extending support for Acrobat throughout the content-creation tools, making PDF a common format for markups. With Acrobat 9.0 Adobe has increased the integration of Flash in Acrobat. It’s safe to say that this is a trend users can expect to see throughout the product line as Adobe increases the ability of its products to work together and to create interactive pieces. One of the earliest products to be released for Adobe’s next gen is Acrobat 9 Pro, which will be integrated into the Creative Suite 3.3 Design Premium and Standard editions.