Lenovo’s Thinkpad”-P” Mobile Workstration testing Labs

Posted by Alex Herrera on October 25th 2007 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Alex Herrera

When you think work-stations, the name Lenovo probably isn't the first to jump to mind. But thanks to Lenovo's purchase of IBM's PC line back in '05, Lenovo has by intention or not become the number three provider of workstations worldwide, with sales today dwarfing industry pioneers such as Sun, SGI and IBM.

RESOURCES FOR DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHERS

Posted by Kathleen Maher on October 8th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

As enthusiasm for digital photography has grown, so has the lineup of tools available for photo editing and management and many of them are free. In essence, photography tools fall into three categories with a wide gulf in the middle. At the top is Photoshop and its plug ins used widely by professional photographers. There is a mid-range of tools that generally cost no more than $100 and many that offer suites of capabilities including video and audio in addition to photo imaging. The leading competitors include Paint Shop Pro from Corel, Digital Image Suite from Microsoft (you can at least hope it interoperates with your operating system well) and iPhoto for the Mac (ditto on the compatibility issue).

The art of mousing

Posted by Ted Pollak on August 6th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Ted Pollak

To all our feline readers: sorry this article isn’t about rodent apprehension techniques—it’s about a company whose products are devoted to making computer mouse use a better experience. This can range from better mouse control for everyday tasks to life and death virtual performance for professional or recreational PC gamers.

Virtual airlines

Posted by Ted Pollak on August 6th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Ted Pollak

A blogmate of mine is a big flight sim fan, but when he posted a video of himself piloting a large commercial jet from the cockpit (Figure 1) I almost fell asleep—that is until the radio crackled to life and a human air traffic controller (ATC) vectored him for an approach to Dulles Airport in Washington, DC.

There’s no VGA connector. How do you hook this thing up?

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 30th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

LG just brought out a 20-inch LCD monitor they’re calling the FlatronWide L206WU. The unique thing about this monitor is that it uses DisplayLink’s DL-160 chip, enabling high-res graphics over a USB 2.0 link. The display offers wide-screen resolution (1680x1050) on a 20.1-inch (51.13 cm) active matrix TFT LCD panel with a non-glare screen.

Alien Skin offers instant paint plug-in

Posted by Kathleen Maher on July 16th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

There’s no such thing as easy art but that doesn’t mean I don’t keep trying. Snap Art, a plug-in program from Alien Skin, seems to promise users a shot at becomming high art with a few push buttons. In the end, you can get some pretty interesting creations but as in all things, the more effort you put into it, the better your end result will be. And, this being a computer and all, the old rule, garbage in/garbage out still holds.

Photography reviews

Posted by Kathleen Maher on July 16th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Camera technology has reached a major inflection point. Or perhaps it’s more accurate to say cameras are looking for an inflection point. The camera body designs, lenses and sensors have all settled down into a comfortable arms race. Customers can have all the megapixels they want even in low-priced cameras. If they’re savvy enough to discern quality, consumers can opt for high quality digital SLRs with optional lenses of any description. Now, it’s all about money and brand.

Pinnacle PCTV HD Pro

Posted by Kathleen Maher on July 16th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Did we ever tell you that we love TV? We do, we really do and always have, and it just keeps getting better and better—and more accessible for everyone everywhere—TV to the max!

And loving TV as much as we do you can imagine we’re always interested in seeing new ones and new technologies. This week we got to look at a couple of new units from Pinnacle and got a pleasant surprise.

Cool down, Dude

Posted by Ted Pollak on July 16th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Ted Pollak

It all started with a terrible buzzing coming from a fan in my computer during heavy game play; I couldn’t take it—it was similar to what a mosquito must experience from those ultra sonic repellant devices.

Is that Vista in your Browser?

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 16th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

3D software developers have long held the dream of applying the third dimension to the Internet, which is the most comprehensive communications network that humanity has invented to date. This is the vision of a literal “Web3D” rather than simply 3D on the web—a vision which has now become reality according to SpaceTime. From now on, users can search and browse the Internet using SpaceTime’s new paradigm where information need not only be recovered, but discovered.