The HP MiniNote 1000 XP for the road

Posted by Kathleen Maher on January 9th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

A few companies have embraced the netbook, or mini notebook—some perhaps against their better judgment. If you talk to these companies, they will tell you that the mini-note class is not intended to replace a regular laptop or a desktop—it’s intended to be an on-the-go computer. Their low-power processors are designed for long battery life, as opposed to the kind of heavy-duty processor you might need for image and video editing. And, if you start thinking that you don’t really do that much video editing and only a little bit of image editing, you are thinking in directions that Intel and the computer OEMs don’t really want you to go.

The Canon EOS Digital Rebel XS/1000D Companion; by Ben Long; published by O’Reilly

Posted by Kathleen Maher on January 9th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Book Review,
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

The Canon Digital Rebel is the most popular digital SLR camera on the market. In fact, it’s fair to say that Canon has created the entry-level dSLR market—Nikon and its fans may disagree, but Canon has built the field, taken the ball, and run with it.

Double your refresh, double your fun

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 9th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Jon Peddie

The stereopsis experience. To get a flicker-free stereoscopic image, you have to have 120 Hz refresh with a single screen, and it doesn’t matter if it’s a single LCD, plasma, DLP, ventricular display, or a CRT. Anything less is a compromise that will cause eye fatigue and send you away, probably not to return.

VillageTronics ViBook

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 9th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Jon Peddie

We’ve tested almost every product VillageTronics has made since their first PCMCIA card with an embedded Trident graphics chip in it, back in late 2001. The company has maintained its product position and evolved it, as the company itself has evolved. The newest product, the ViBook.

ATI’s latest AIBs get a workout on Vantage

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 22nd 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

This week, we received some more ATI AIBs, specifically a pair of Sapphire Radeon AIBs, and a pair of 1 GB HD 4870 AIBs. We also got a new Catalyst driver, so we decided to run the batch of them, including the 512 MB 4870s, for comparison.

Benchmarking the new Core i7 Nehalem processor

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 1st 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

The goal was simple enough, test a new Intel Core i7 3.2GHz (965 Extreme) X58-based machine against previous machines with a couple of different graphics boards. X58 is Intel’s new I/O hub that accomodates the Quickpath interface.

HP dv2945se: show, go, or both?

Posted by Kathleen Maher on October 27th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

One would hazard a guess that the most likely causes of early laptop retirement, regardless of who uses the machine, are the same—death by gravity (dropping) or death by blunt object (smacking it against something). This review was undertaken due to the latter cause of death. An overzealous traveler apparently stuffed this writer’s trusty old Acer 1690 WLCi into an overhead bin to make room for his oversized luggage (the backpack containing the machine managed to travel four rows from its original location, so there was more than one culprit). One must look at the bright side, however. The Acer weighed about 40 lbs and was far too big to use on an airplane. Upon arriving in Phoenix, the search for a new, smaller, and lighter machine was underway.

Adobe’s CS4 features major changes for photographers

Posted by Kathleen Maher on September 29th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Adobe has been readying the market for its new CS4 lineup of software products for months now and anticipation is high. This is a performance release as well as a feature release, although we saw a few features that are going to need a little more work. This fast review is a quick overview concentrating primarily on the imaging tools. We will follow up with a look at the other modules as soon as we catch our breath.

Does Google Chrome shine?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

So I did it, not on day one but by day three I downloaded Chrome and tried it. I still use it occasionally to see if there are any changes or upgrades, but basically it’s not impressive. It’s a little faster, hardly noticeable, than Firefox, and anything is faster than IE7, but who cares because no power user uses it anyway.

HP 2133 Mini Note struts its stuff

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

We first saw a Mini Note in early 2007 when our friends from VIA came to visit and brought some demos with them. It was an interesting device and, as usual, VIA was way ahead of the pack. In fact, VIA has almost always been ahead of the pack but they fail to win the prize when the pack catches up with them. This time it’s different and the Mini Note from HP is a design win triumph for VIA and a product win for HP.