Wireless sucks

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 13th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

That's right, you heard it here, up here on the mountain where we work by candlelight and still wax our own saddles. OK, it's not that bad, but we have learned that wireless isn't all it's cracked up to be, the QoS leaves a lot to be desiredÑeverywhere, except maybe Paul Ottelini's office.

Apple introduces Aperture; Adobe counters with Lightroom

Posted by Kathleen Maher on January 30th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

Apple has been saving most of its surprises for the consumer end of its business, but just before the holidays the company rolled out Aperture as a gift for its dedicated professional customer base. The new photo-management and image-processing tool is a gorgeous complement to Apple's Cinema displays—which are making their way to being affordable—and the new Quad G5 computers, the last of the Power PC Apples.

If you like four how about a 2 x 2?

Posted by Kathleen Maher on January 16th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

AMD just announced its long-awaited dual-core Athlon 64 FX-60. Long-awaited not because it is late but because there is such a pent-up demand for it in the enthusiast community. You can expect to see this part fly off the shelves.

Asus EAX1800XT breaks speed limits

Posted by Kathleen Maher on December 5th 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

If the reviews for the Asus EAX1800XT TOP are as good as the initial reviews of the ÒKing KongÓ movie then Asus will be getting gaming converts. Asus, is making the connection by bundling the official game of ÒKing KongÓ with the new Asus offering.

Watching TV, and playing games – it’s all in a day’s work

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 21st 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

This week at Mt. Tiburon Testing Labs (MTTL) we're still watching TV on our PCs, but portable TVs now. We're trying to make things explode around here, but so far the only thing we've had any success with has been the microwave—boy, you should have seen that baby light up before it lifted off, but that's a story for another day.

This ain’t your dad’s “Quake”

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 21st 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

I recently got a copy of “Quake 4”; you should get one, too. You should get one if you like FPSs, with stunning graphics, lots of action, lots of weapons, opponents, and levels. If you don't like that kind of stuff, well, go play “Everquest,” or “WOWC.”

No wonder about ATI using R520 for TV

Posted by Kathleen Maher on November 21st 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

As the 1800 XT is finally hitting the market ATI will introduce its latest card in the All-In-Wonder series, the Radeon All-In-Wonder (AIW) X1800 XL.

Living with the Xbox 360

Posted by Kathleen Maher on November 21st 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Kathleen Maher

The Xbox 360 is clearly this year's Tickle-Me Elmo. Stores started reporting shortages shortly after Thanksgiving. If you want an Xbox 360 and you just can't find one you might try going to Japan because we hear the machines are sitting on the shelves. According to a survey conducted by Japanese publishers Enterbrain, Microsoft has sold less than half of the 159,000 boxes the company has shipped to Japan for the first week of sales. Enterbrain publishes the Japanese game magazine Famitsu.

Monitor madness on the mountain

Posted by Jon Peddie on August 11th 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

As you know I'm a big advocate of multiple displays: "The more you can see the more you can do." -Jon Peddie, 1998. It's one thing to preach it, it's another to practice. I'm practicing.

Compaq nw8240

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 7th 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

MTTL got paint all over its new computer this week. It's OK, though, because we Ctrl-Z'ed it and cleaned it all up. We mean, of course, that this week we got a Compaq nw8240 mobile workstation to play with and we also got our hands on a beta version of Corel Paint Shop Pro X. Sweet. Super easy install, none of that close all other applications, must reboot stuff. Unfortunately, we're going to have to reboot on the Paint Shop Pro review we wrote, since it turned out to be embargoed. We'll tell you all about it real soon. So, let's concentrate on what we can talk about, the Compaq nw8240