Testing AMD’s FreeSync

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 19th 2015 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd gpu graphics r9 freesynch cg

It’s works, it’s free, and its available AMD stopped by Mt. Tiburon Testing Labs last week and dropped off a slick, 21:9, 2560 × 1080, LG, 34-inch ultra-wide FreeSync monitor. LG introduced the monitor at CES this year. Unlike the Gsync monitors, which have only a DisplayPort connector, the

LG’s super-wide, highres IPS LED monitor

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 7th 2015 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: 34uc97 gaming monitor lg thunderbolt

Nearly three feet of desktop make this the ultimate gaming monitor A Christmas surprise arrived in the Mount Tiburon Testing Labs: a new wide high-res IPS LED monitor from LG. This monitor is going to be shown at CES, and it will very likely change the way people think about

You too can live in a 3D world

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 29th 2014 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: vr virtual reality

At Siggraph 2014 in Vancouver,  Google was giving  away Cardboard VR glasses  that use your large-screen  smartphone as the display. I  didn’t learn about it soon enough and  didn’t get one. Every week since then  I’ve put away 5

DEFINING HI RES

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 29th 2014 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

When some people make comparisons of resolution, they do so by drawing boxes, like this one. The above diagram is a mathematical representation of resolution, showing more pixels per line and more lines, while holding the pixel size constant. The other misrepresentation of resolution is to suggest you’ll

Half-Life 2 on Shield tablet

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 25th 2014 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia gaming mobile tegra shield half-life 2

Playing an action-packed FPS on an 8-inch screen—amazing experience and memories Ten years old and still fantastic, one of the best games ever has been ported to An¬droid and Nvidia’s Tegra-based Shield tablet. The game is a whopping 2 GB and takes about an hour

Playing with 4K - Do I need one, can I afford one?

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 6th 2014 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: pixels dell ultrahd 4k igzo sharp

Dell recently released a new 4K monitor, the P3214Q, that has a beautiful 32-inch IGZO IPS panel. You know the old saying: If you have to ask how much it costs, you can’t afford it? It’s still true. This little big beauty sells for $3,500, which

Playing with GeForce Experience

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 27th 2013 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: nvidia gpu geforce driver

Nvidia has generated a clever new app for PC gamers that uses an Nvidia GPU (desktop or notebook) called the GeForce Experience. The app has two features: a DVR-like recorder, called ShadowPlay, that will make a video of what you did in the game, and an optimizer/tuner for game

Acer’s Chromebook

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 8th 2013 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: hp acer google android chrome chromebook

The Acer Chromebook is a slick-looking, lightweight one-inch-thick clamshell device with an 11.6-inch 1366 × 768 screen (135 PPI) powered by an Intel Celeron processor. It runs the Google proprietary Chrome OS (this is not Android), and that creates a few problems. But this lightweight machine (3 pounds) is an easy-to-tote device with a

Acer’s H6510BD projector and the search for S3D

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 18th 2013 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: acer peddie projector h6510bd

You can have S3D with the right ID We have been testing the new Acer DLP-based H6510BD projector for a few weeks, and gave a preliminary report on it in TechWatch Volume 13, Number 11 May 21, 2013, p 27. As a general-purpose HD projector, you can’t beat this machine. Bright,

Qualcomm captures and displays 4K

Posted by Jon Peddie on June 4th 2013 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: qualcomm snapdragon ultrahd hevc

Qualcomm says their Snapdragon 800 can capture 4K images and display those images on a 4K screen. Step by step, 4K is making its way to the home with the brand name UltraHD, and every announcement like this from vendors helps grow demand for even

Visio service and support

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 20th 2013 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags: nvidia graphics qualcomm mt. tiburon testing tegra htc one x+

We bought a 60-inch Visio smart TV in November to watch the election (we’ve since found other uses for it). It’s a beautiful looking device, with a thin bezel and an overall thickness of just 1.9 inches. And it is smart—it found our network and

The pen is mightier than the finger

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 13th 2013 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags: nvidia graphics qualcomm mt. tiburon testing tegra htc one x+

Re-visiting N-trig and the Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet Of all the tablets we’ve tested (and certainly not all that are in the market), one of my favorites is the Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet. One reason is because it has excellent pen input capability. Introduced in late 2011 with a 2.1 GHz Tegra

Synergistic ScreenShare dual displays from Spring Design: 1+1 = 2.5+

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 7th 2013 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Did you ever wish you had a larger display on your smartphone, especially when browsing? Or have you wished you could type with a larger virtual keyboard than the one on your phone? Well, dream no more, your wishes have come true with ScreenShare from Spring Design, a device that

Asus Zenbook, Fujitsu Life book, and Trinity notebook

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 26th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

All portables are not the same—by a long shot Even though we found almost two dozen Ultrabooks, we only had two we could test in time for this issue. And we have an AMD Trinity-based laptop. We put those three units through a couple of tests, specifically the

Review: Mobile Monitor Technologies’ Monitor2Go–The more you can see, the more you can

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 26th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: ces monitors productivity

The world is a better place. Monitor prices and weight have gone down, while size and resolution have gone up. Ultrabooks have brought us lightweight and HD screens, as well as lightweight power supplies. Life is ­better. One year ago, in fact, as late as four months ago, I,

Review: Newer Technology Power2U AC/USB In-Wall Charging Solution: More tangle but less dead devices

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 24th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

{image_1}Newer Technologies (is that a great name or what?) brought out a wall socket assembly, the Power2U, with a USB power cube built into it. Not only that, but it’s a smart cube that turns itself off when nothing is drawing power from it, so it

Review: Fujitsu Lifebook U772 Ultrabook

Posted by Jon Peddie on August 20th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: review netbook laptop fujitsu ultrabook

We got an Ultrabook sample to play with and ran some tests on it The pros are it is an Ultrabook, lightweight, thin and sexy, reasonably quiet (it does have a fan), and pretty darn responsive. It boots fast (for now), and it’s attractive. The cons are it

Tuning in and tuning out

Posted by Jon Peddie on June 9th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Getting a good night’s (day’s) sleep If you travel (as if anyone reading this doesn’t), you know the challenge of trying to get a restful sleep on a long flight. You stuff polyurethane memory foam in your ears, don noise-canceling headphones, put eye patches

Review: Nvidia’s dual GPU GTX 690 AIB

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 10th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia gpu graphics report

Fastest, bestest, not biggest With the GTX 690, Nvidia was focused on creating not only the most powerful dual-GPU card in the world but also a card that was power efficient with great acoustics. There has always been a sacrifice when trying to cobble together the best enthusiast PC in trying

DisplayLink Targus

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 2nd 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Video and FPSs across USB with Targus {image_1}DisplayLink started life as Newnham Research in Cambridge England in 2003 doing thin-client displays. It got the bright idea to provide a wireless connection to projectors from a PC. It was a great idea then, still is—even if it doesn&rsquo

Acer C120 Pico projector

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 2nd 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: acer technology computers projector travel

Projecting power like an aircraft carrier {image_1}We got an Acer C120 Pico projector to play with (and we took it on a road trip to Finland and the UK). The units can display up to 1280 x 800 resolution, has a 1000:1 contrast ratio, and offers 100 Lumens brightness when plugged in. It

Ivy Bridge graphics and more

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 2nd 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: aib intel pmark benchmark ivy ivy bridge

The best ever integrated graphics For comparison, we ran graphics benchmarks on the processor-based graphics in machines using Intel Ivy Bridge (IVB) processors. We ran the same series of tests on the Ivy Bridge i7-3370k running at 3.5 GHz with HD4000 graphics and compared it to a two year

Review AMD Radeon HD 7970 and Nvidia GTX 680 AIB

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 2nd 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia amd graphics ati 3d review

The world’s two fastest graphics boards are compared—GTX 680 wins A month or so ago AMD released their top-of-the-line Radeon HD 7079. Demos were sent out to the company’s favorite reviewers (that means NOT you JPR) and results started being reported, it looked good. Then a

Review of AMD Radeon HD 7950 Tahiti - Better than even the 6970

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 29th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd ati radeon review hd7950

Announced in December, AMD began shipping the HD7950 in mid-January, and through the magic of modern transportation, one arrived here already, in mid-March, so obviously you’re anxious to read all about its performance characteristics. We have been anxious to put the board to work. For our tests, we

OnLive Desktop

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 16th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags:

On the second of March we got notified by OnLive of their new app that offers full Microsoft Office and Adobe Reader from the cloud. We excitedly down­­­loaded it and started playing with it. OnLive Office is a somewhat different product from something like Splashtop. Splashtop

The Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 16th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

The Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime is a slim and lightweight tablet with an attractive metallic spun finished design. Asus claims it is the slimmest tablet on the market at 0.33” thick and weighs 1.29lbs. Asus says the Eee Pad Transformer Prime tablet that offers up to 12 hours of battery

Review of Splashtop HD

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 16th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags:

This app will allow you to access your office or home PC with an Android-based tablet and use the PCs apps and files. It’s remarkably clever. On my office PC I have three high-resolution displays, the center or main display is a 30-inch, 2560 x 1600 monitor with 100 PPI. The

Splashtopping - Remote and on-line use with a tablet

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 16th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags:

We were impressed with the demonstrations Nvidia made at CES using an Asus Transformer Prime as a remote terminal to play a FPS over the internet from a remote host PC. And we were intrigued by OnLive’s Desktop, so we thought we’d try our luck at

HP’s Ozmo-based WiFi mouse—Look ma, no dongle

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 1st 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

{image_1}Why use a Bluetooth tooth mouse when you’ve already got WiFi in your computer? That was where Ozmo devices started. The company was founded as H-Stream Wireless in 2004 with the goal of developing low power battery-operated Wi-Fi communication devices for wireless personal area network (WPAN) connectivity. Name-challenged,

Corsair’s Vengeance gaming peripherals

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 1st 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

{image_1} Corsair introduced their Vengeance series of keyboard in December 2011, just in time for the holiday season. Their first keyboard was the K90 and it sold for $130. Recently they came out with the K60, a slightly smaller and less expensive version, which sells for $110. Our friends at Corsair sent one

Handbook of Visual Display Technology

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 13th 2012 | Permalink
Categories: Book Review,
Tags: review technology developers displays books reference

Springer-SBM and Canopus Academic Publishing have announced the publication of the Handbook of Visual Display Technology. Across four volumes and more than 2600 pages, this comprehensive reference work covers all aspects of the science and technology behind displays, from the fundamentals of optics, vision and colour science, through electronic imaging,

Testing Vellamo

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 24th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: mobile tablets benchmark

Vellamo is a mobile Web benchmark that evaluates browser performance on Android devices and provides a holistic view into browser performance. It also evaluates networking, JavaScript, rendering, and user experience incorporating industry standard and custom tests. The test was developed by Qualcomm. We ran Vellamo on a couple of Android

AnTuTu mobile device benchmark

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 28th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: graphics 3d mobile benchmark 2d android

Nice evaluation tool for Android devices The AnTuTu System Benchmark is an Android benchmarking tool that can run a full test of a mobile devices’ processor through a series of test for easy comparison. It can test for Memory Performance CPU Integer Performance CPU Floating point Performance 2D and 3D

Benchmarking Mobile devices

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 28th 2011 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags: mobile qualcomm benchmark appstore

New Web Browser test shows value of GPU clock How do you benchmark a mobile device? You download an app and run it. Qualcomm has a nice one, more on that later. But how do you benchmark a mobile device with a benchmark that isn’t in a sanctioned app

Review: HP Envy 17 redux

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 28th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: gpu graphics 3d gaming hp laptop envy computer

Second time’s a charm – but the first time wasn’t bad either This is a lot of computer for $1,600. It comes with a 120 Hz (S3D) 17-inch display, a Blu-ray player, 750 GB HDD (7200 RPM), 6 GB DDR3 (1333 MHz) system RAM, AMD HD6850M discrete GPU with 1 GB GDDR5, HDMI and

HP ENVY17 3D Review - a 3D entertainment system and more

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 15th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia 3d gaming hp review software s3d games

The HP 17-inch ENVY laptop is delightful. It has one of the best 3D screens I have ever seen, and it comes with one set of 3D shutter glasses. It can show 3D movies and S3D games, as well as show 3D photos and Google Earth in 3D. The

Testing the AMD HD 6990 with five screens - The more you see the more you like

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 12th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd displays

The first Eyefinity AIB we tested was the HD 5870 in October 2009 with six monitors in a 3x2 planar configuration. It was thrilling to see that much landscape but it quickly became apparent it wasn't the ideal setup for game play. The problems were the screen height was a bit too

Review Cyberlink’s MediaEspresso

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 13th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: review software media cyberlink convert converter

Ultra fast universal media converter CyberLink has impressed us almost since day one with their courage, cleverness, and consistency. One of the first companies to offer a suite, innovative with their attempt to auto edit video for action scenes (they called it "emotional"), and really good looking and easy to

The Sandy Bridge Review

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 12th 2011 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: gpu intel cpu review benchmark sandybridge

CES is over and the  hope, promise, and promise of Intel’s Sandy Bridge CPU with embedded processor graphics (EPG) has been revealed. There is rejoicing through the press and the webosphere. We’ve been testing and using a 4-core version Sandy Bridge Core i5-2500k running

Review of Trainz—A railroad simulator

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 8th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: review trainz simulation simulator

Simulators for airplanes, ships, cars, and even spaceships are what people usually think of first when the word sim is mentioned. But for folks who like trains, a railroad simulator is a fabulous entertainment tool. When I was younger and seemed to have unlimited time I built model railroads. And

Overclocking for Dummies

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 25th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd cpu 3dmark overclock hd4870

I have always been reticent to mess with overclocking (OC) processors for fear of ruining something and reduced stability. However since I have separated my business and benchmarking computers the stability part of the equation is not as important anymore. After reading an article in PC Aviator, the author discloses

HP ZR30w Review

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 25th 2010 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

The more you see, the more you can do—a review of HP’s ZR30w That’s not just resolution, it’s color too This is another one of those stories that has a sad ending to it. HP loaned us one of their new 30-inch DreamColor displays to

Nvidia GTX580 Review

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 9th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia review fermi gtx580

Nvidia GTX 580 review - a firmer Fermi It’s only taken over a year for a product already a year late to be realized in all its fullness, but the GTX580 does it – and it just shows how hard developing a GPU really is. Ambition, node changes and an unrealistic

Testing AMD’s Radeon HD6870, HD6850, and Nvidia’s GTX 460 review

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 29th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia amd gpu ati radeon gpgpu pmark ghtx graphicscard

Performance segment AIBS It’s times like these, and last week, when AMD and Nvidia roll out their latest offerings where we get to see what they’re made of and how well they do in games and compared to each other. In the last issue we checked out the

Review: The tiny giants—Nvidia GT430 vs. AMD Radeon HD5550

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 13th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Or should we call them mighty midgets? In late April AMD introduced the DirectX 11 Radeon HD 5550 entry-level Value Segment graphics AIB. It was well received and praised for its value, and performance. Introduced at $70 with 1GB of DDR3 and fanless, it represented a lot AIB for not too much money.

The Tests - Quadro 4000, Quadro 5000, FirePro V9800 and FirePro V7800 review

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 13th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia amd ati quadro firepro

We tested two Nvidia workstation AIBs, the Quadro 4000 and Quadro 5000, and two AMD workstation AIBs, the FirePro V7800 and FirePro V9800, on four benchmarks: CineBench 11.5, SpecViewPerf 11.0, Redway 3D demo, and Unigine Heaven (on OpenGL). We tested the boards on Intel i7 6-Core, 12 threads @ 3.34 GHz system running Windows 7 64-bit. The results

FirePro V9800 review

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 13th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd ati firepro v9800

AMD has introduced their latest FirePro product for workstations, the V9800. The V9800 includes AMD’s Eyefinity technology that enables up to six independent displays. With this board, AMD is pledging allegiance to OpenCL. AMD’s graphics have an edge for the time being with support for DirectX 11. Direct X 11

Review: Movea’s Gyration Air Mouse Elite K-M

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 28th 2010 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Hey, I’m using the new Air Mouse Elite keyboard and mouse. What it is Wireless optical laser mouse with a gyro that works in mid-air. It uses ST Micro MEMs 3D motion sensors with a 2.4 GHz linked USB stub. It operates up to 100 ft away via the USB RF

Olympus DM-420 Digital Recorder Review

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 2nd 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Eyes-free recording—testing the Olympus DM-420 digital recorder I was asked why I wanted to test a digital recorder device when I could record using my mobile phone? My first response was, “well, I am a gadget hound, and I like toys.” I was then challenged by the prospect of

Cyblink Power2go 7 Review

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 2nd 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags:

New and improved, better than ever—Cyberlink Power2go 7 You thought 6 was good—you ain’t seen nuthin’ yet How often has this happened to you? You’ve got a bunch of photos on your computer and you want to see them—but you can’t—they’re in ISO

Review: Nvidia’s F104 - GTX 460 mini-fur-me

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 19th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

A $200 board that packs a lot of wallop One of the fastest airplanes ever made was the Lockheed F104 clocking in at 1.7 mach with a 48k ft/min climb rate it was  called a missile with a pilot in it. We’ve been testing another F104 - the new

Nvidia’s three-screen 3D Vision system

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 8th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia graphics gaming

To do more you gotta see more—it’s the law As you all know (and if you don’t we’re going to send you to your room and make you write it a hundred times), Peddie’s 2nd law is—The more you can see the more you

“Singularity”—first impressions - game review

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 8th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: review games fps

We got a copy of Activisions’s “Singularity” (developed by Raven) and started playing with it. It’s a FPS set on a island where the Russians built a research facility in the 1950s to test a newly discovered element E99. Things didn’t turn out quite the way the

Seeing more, doing more; a guide to putting multiple monitors to work, or play

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 16th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd gaming production multiscreen

We have been proponents of multi-screen displays forever, and have run almost every combination there is for over two decades now. Possibly the largest monitor in a cluster we ever had was a Sony 24-inch CRT Trinitron that weighed over 300 pounds. We’ve cabled notebooks to external monitors and built

Benchmarking Nvidia’s GTX 480 Fermi AIB

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 30th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Last week in Boston at the PAX conference Nvidia officially announced the GTX 480 and 470 AIBs based on the GF100 Fermi GPU. We’ve written it up in this issue of TechWatch (see page 1.) The board is unremarkable in its appearance, and we could not find any wood screws. As

Lenovo’s new light-weight notebook—a road warrior’s delight

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 19th 2010 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: hp ces lenovo usb

Lenovo made the mistake of letting us play with their new X201s. It was a mistake because they’re going to have to pry my cold dead fingers off it to get it back. The specs: Core i7-620LM 2GHz; 4GB DDR3; 160GB hard drive; Bluetooth spacer, Intel

ATI’s Radeon HD5970 Hemlock - DirectX 11, lots-o-cores, multiple displays, over-clockable

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 24th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd gpu graphics ati opencl directx pmark benchmark overclock

Number five in its series of new AIBs, ATI as promised delivered the dual chip HD5970 Radeon board. It’s killer fast, easy on the power supply and pocketbook, and has bonuses like multi-display output and over clocking tools. The board comes with 2GB of DDR5, one each for each

Kill a watt

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 19th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Every month the electric bill comes in and every month it’s higher than you think it should be and every month you say we have to find out what is using all that power, it can't be just the PC I sit in front of all day, someone is

Your very own switchboard

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 19th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Here at Mt. Tiburon Testing Labs we run several computers with AMD or Intel processors of various sizes. We have a variety of monitors, keyboards, and mice, and the one we want is never attached to the machine we’re going to run tests on. Not only that, when we

Wikipedia in your pocket

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 28th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: wikireader

Openmoko has announced the availability of WikiReader, a palm-sized electronic encyclopedia containing the more than three million English language articles of Wikipedia that can be accessed immediately anytime, anywhere without requiring an Internet connection. WikiReader is available for $99 at http://thewikireader.com and Amazon.com starting today. We got to

How high can you go? - Village Tronic says 1920

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 28th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: television usb ebook vibook

Village Tronic is one of the pioneers of multi-display solutions and the company just launched a new member to its ViBook family of display extenders. These little modules provide computer users with a simple way to run several displays from a Windows or Mac desktop computer or laptop. The ViBook

PS3 getting better and better—We take a tour of Unchartered 2: Among Thieves

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 28th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: gaming games ps3

In addition to all the cost moves (mostly due to disk price manipulations, and a smaller box) Sony is increasing the number of titles for the PS3. That’s helped them move almost a half million units in September And from a pixel point of view, the quality of some

ATI Radeon HD 5770: It’s going to be tough to knock down Juniper

Posted by Jon Peddie on October 13th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd gpu ati aib radeon gpgpu pmark 3dmark hd5770

When ATI took us aboard an aircraft carrier in Alameda California a couple of weeks ago to introduce their new Radeon HD5870 code named Cypress, they also showed us their plan for releasing a scaled down version of the new chip code named Juniper. Phase two of their “Sweet spot”

Testing the ATI Radeon HD 5870

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 30th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd gpu graphics ati 3d radeon gpgpu 2d teraflops

By now you’ve probably read our review of the RV870 and a half dozen others so you should already know it’s suppose to be a 2.7 TFLOPS chip with 1,600 processors and ultra fast 2GB of GDDR5 memory. The board is totally enclosed, with air vents at the back, and

How low can you go?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 22nd 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: mobile vista disk storage ibm verbatim kodak drive flashdrive

2.13 billion bits per buck, that’s how low. For one U.S. penny you get 21 million bits of memory in a package not much bigger than a U.S. penny. Verbatim has introduced an 8GB USB memory for $30. Verbatim, one of the pioneer companies of the industry, having started in 1969

Darkest of Days: What if you could travel in time?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 22nd 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: nvidia gpu cpu games wwii physics realistic physx

You can, and enjoy physics and cinematic visions whilst doing it: the first serious implementation of GPU-based physics. During wars and natural catastrophes people go missing, MIA in the case of wars, simply missing persons in disasters. They could be alive, they could be dead, the ambiguity of their status

CyberLink MediaShow—they love GPUs

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 22nd 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: apple facebook microsoft media faces flickr cyberlink photo recognition

CyberLink has been at the forefront of GPU exploitation for photos, and their latest effort is MediaShow. YAPP—yet another photo program, but this time it’s got more. If you’re like me, you have several photo programs, some you wanted, some that were forced on you. I currently

Go fast, go long—Intel releases the Lynnfield platform

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 22nd 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia intel cpu processor ram nehalem core

Lynnfield is Intel’s first mainstream Nehalem, and is being marketed as Core i5. It’s built in 45nm, has 4 cores, and Hyper Threading, 8MB of shared L3 memory, and Turbo Boost Technology for dynamic frequency scaling. The Core i5, again like the i7, has an integrated 1333 MHz DDR3 memory

Wolfenstein - Great game little use of GPU

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 4th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: gpu 3d games fps activision

Activision has recently released a remake of the classic FPS Wolfenstein, and all I can say is thank you Activision. However, the GPU folks may not be quite as thankful. When I heard it was coming out I expected it to be in stereovision and have killer physics, after all

Augmented Reality hits the mainstream - A darling of technorati Marvel is bringing it home

Posted by Jon Peddie on August 6th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: 3d marvell boeing avatar mattel startrek augmented reality

Immersive Technologies’ AR demo.If you’ve ever seen a yellow scrimmage line appear in the field of a football game, you’ve experienced AR (Augmented Reality), which is a term credited to Thomas Caudell in 1990 when he was with Boeing. Lots of companies and universities have experimented with it,

eVGA’s Interview

Posted by Jon Peddie on June 12th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

eVGA’s Interview being tested in MTTL’s lab. The camera is in the center post. See more do more, see more together. Anyone who has read Tech Watch has heard about Peddie’s second law—The more you can see the more you can do. And you’ve no

Nvidia GTX 275

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 15th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia gpu ati

Figure 8: Pmark for Nvidia GTX 275 and ATI AIBs Figure 9: Performance comparison of Nvidia GTX 275 to ATI AIBs Figure 10: Performance per power consumption of Nvidia GTX 275 and ATI AIBs Figure 11: Performance per price of Nvidia GTX 275 and ATI AIBs The Nvidia GTX 275 is a gap filler for Nvidia designed to offer

A word about Game Booster

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 14th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: software games boosters

Game Booster is a free program that can be downloaded from various sites (e.g. http://majorgeeks.com/Game_Booster_d6148.html). It’s advertised as being designed to help optimize your PC for smoother, more responsive game. It works by temporarily shutting down background processes, cleaning RAM, and intensifying

HP DV6Z Laptop

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 14th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: hp laptop thumbsup

My big bad HP Pavilion DV9700 notebook died. Actually it didn’t completely die, it just went blind, or maybe I did because I couldn’t see the screen anymore. It was kinda exciting to watch as it turned itself off, the screen flashed brilliant lines, rippled up down like

Lenovo Elite ThinkPad W700ds

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 3rd 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Thinkpad Elite W700ds second screen with menu.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) OCR seems to be able to read anything.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) Time to calibrate.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) Color calibration sensor.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) FIGURE 1: Performance characteristics of some powerful computers.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) Probably

Testing the new Nvidia monsters

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 4th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Figure 1: Comparison of five leading graphics AIBs at 1920 x 1200. (Source: Jon Peddie Research) Figure 2: Comparison of five leading graphics AIBs at 2560 x 1600. (Source: Jon Peddie Research) Figure 3: Call of Duty at War played on two AIBs. (Source: Jon Peddie Research) When ATI’s half-sized half-price HD Radeon 4870 opened up a

Nvidia breaks the 20,000 mark

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 19th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Nvidia GTX295 and GTX 280. (Source: Jon Peddie Research) “In computer graphics too much is not enough”—Jon Peddie 1980 The new GTX 295 dual-GPU AIB from Nvidia is a beast—period. The $499 (MSRP) AIB has a pair of die-shrunk 55nm GTX 280 chips and the GPUs run at 576MHz while the memory is

Double your refresh, double your fun

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 9th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

The stereopsis experience To get a flicker-free stereoscopic image, you have to have 120 Hz refresh with a single screen, and it doesn’t matter if it’s a single LCD, plasma, DLP, ventricular display, or a CRT. Anything less is a compromise that will cause eye fatigue and send you

VillageTronics ViBook

Posted by Jon Peddie on January 9th 2009 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

These past couple of weeks, we have had the opportunity to catch up on some of the testing that we put off. And yet, we still ran out of time—Parkinson’s law in action. But what we did get time with was very satisfying. Today’s products are getting

ATI’s latest AIBs get a workout on Vantage

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 22nd 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

ATI’s HD4870 and HD4850 X2 AIBs.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) Working end of the ATI AIBs.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) Figure 1: Comparison of ATI and Nvidia AIBs running Vantage.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) Figure 2: Price/performance comparison of AIBs running Vantage.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) This week, we received

Benchmarking the new Core i7 Nehalem processor

Posted by Jon Peddie on December 1st 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

This ain’t as easy as we make it look... The Vantage 3DMark tests were astounding—astoundingly confusing and disappointing. We expected the Intel processors to beat the AMD Barcelona. But we also expected the Nehalem to own the Core 2 Extreme, leave it in the dust, smoke it. It didn’

Does Google Chrome shine?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

So I did it, not on day one but by day three I downloaded Chrome and tried it. I still use it occasionally to see if there are any changes or upgrades, but basically it’s not impressive. It’s a little faster, hardly noticeable, than Firefox, and

HP 2133 Mini Note struts its stuff

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

HP’s Mini Note 2133(Source: Jon Peddie Research) We first saw a Mini Note in early 2007 when our friends from VIA came to visit and brought some demos with them. It was an interesting device and, as usual, VIA was way ahead of the pack. In fact, VIA has

Roxio Creator 2009

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Opening screen of Roxio Creator 2009.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) There are five companies that are offering multimedia suites: Adobe, Avid/Pinnacle, Corel/Ulead, CyberLink, and NTI. I suspect Microsoft will soon be an entry into this category, and there are some other brands that have bits and pieces. Roxio has

Just how fast is SSD?

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Samsung has been annoying us with PR emails about their solid-state drives for almost a year now. Finally, we had enough and said put up or shut up. They put up and sent us a 15.4-inch Lenovo T60p ThinkPad laptop ($2,438.) What the hell are we going to do with

YABM – yet another benchmark

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 15th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

We bought a nifty performance test program from PassMark. (See the mention of it in this in the review of the Lenovo ThinkPad.) It’s a full suite of tests, and totally affordable ($24.) Included in the suite is a 2D and a 3D test set. They run on DirectX 9.

HP TouchSmart

Posted by Jon Peddie on August 18th 2008 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

By Jon Peddie with Alex Gorvoi, Robert Dow The Touchsmart in a kitchen.(Source: Jon Peddie Research) This is the most impressive entertainment PC I have ever seen, and I think I may have invented the term EPC back in 1999 when I said we would have this kind of capability

There’s no VGA connector. How do you hook this thing up?

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 30th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

LG just brought out a 20-inch LCD monitor they’re calling the FlatronWide L206WU. The unique thing about this monitor is that it uses DisplayLink’s DL-160 chip, enabling high-res graphics over a USB 2.0 link. The display offers wide-screen resolution (1680x1050) on a 20.1-inch (51.13 cm) active matrix

Is that Vista in your Browser?

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 16th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

3D software developers have long held the dream of applying the third dimension to the Internet, which is the most comprehensive communications network that humanity has invented to date. This is the vision of a literal “Web3D” rather than simply 3D on the web—a vision

AMD’s Radeon HD2400 and HD2600XT

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 2nd 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Last we told you about AMD shipping the new midrange and entry-level AIBs based on the R600 architecture, and built in 65-nm technology. This week we got a basket full of them and ran some tests. Product Web price AMD price Sapphire HD2600 Pro 512-MByte DDR3 $185.00   Sapphire Radeon HD2600

Revisiting some previous results

Posted by Jon Peddie on June 18th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

We have two follow-up tests to share with you this week: the Toshiba docking station and the R600-Radeon HD2900XT. Toshiba Dynadock—it’s totally powered If you read our evaluation of the Dynadock (see TechWatch, June 4), you may recall we had, or thought we had, a

Want to do more, then you need to see more – AMD’s R690

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 9th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

It’s taken a while, but like “S.T.A.L.K.E.R.,” the R690 has been worth the wait. What’s that? That, son, is the wait for our evaluation of the AMD R690 Asus motherboard. And the reason it took this long, when

First impressions of “S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl”

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 9th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

As usual we had more stuff to test than we could get to, so we picked the things that are most fun for us: games and displays. As so often happens, we discovered unusual and certainly undeclared artifacts, which we hope you’ll find interesting, amusing, and informative. The

Getting back to the future

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 26th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

As your official old-fart, been there-done-that curmudgeon, I’m happy to report that the PC has finally caught up with the Commodore PET (Personal Electronic Transactor) computer I used to write my thesis on back in 1980. On that 1-MHz MOS 6502–based PET computer with its whopping 4 KBytes of

Mod this, dude

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 26th 2007 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Figure 6. Matto’s opening screen—welcome to hell. In a recent Mt. Tiburon Testing Labs story (rFactor encore), Ted Pollak, our super-duper, super gamer analyst, goes nuts for a racing game mod (and it is pretty damn spectacular, if I do say so). I, however, went for a

Beauty and the beast

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 6th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

We get our hands on Playstation 3 as well as AMD’s 4x4 This week we got to play with two black beauties, one a monster, the other smaller but almost equally powerful. I’m talking abut an AMD 4x4 and a Sony PS3; read on. When we returned

Doing more, seeing more

Posted by Jon Peddie on May 22nd 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

We have been testing a variety of multi-screen controllers. The three hardware solutions we’ve looked at have been VillageTronics, Newnham Research’s USB-to-VGA adapter, and Matrox’s TripleHead2Go. All of these devices are external to the computer, with the exception being VillageTronics, which is a

Wireless sucks

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 13th 2006 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

That's right, you heard it here, up here on the mountain where we work by candlelight and still wax our own saddles. OK, it's not that bad, but we have learned that wireless isn't all it's cracked up to be, the QoS leaves a lot to be desiredÑeverywhere, except

Watching TV, and playing games – it’s all in a day’s work

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 21st 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

This week at Mt. Tiburon Testing Labs (MTTL) we're still watching TV on our PCs, but portable TVs now. We're trying to make things explode around here, but so far the only thing we've had any success with has been the microwave—boy, you should have seen that baby light

This ain’t your dad’s “Quake”

Posted by Jon Peddie on November 21st 2005 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Opening scene, all hell is breaking loose. I recently got a copy of “Quake 4”; you should get one, too. You should get one if you like FPSs, with stunning graphics, lots of action, lots of weapons, opponents, and levels. If you don't like that kind of stuff, well,