Testing the Nvidia GTX 1080

Posted by Robert Dow on May 23rd 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Robert Dow

Everything it promises to be and more In this week's issue of TechWatch we breakdown the new Nvidia Pascal GPU. We look at its new architecture and technical specs. In the this article we take a look at the testing data and compare the GTX 1080 vs. the GTX 980, Titan

MantelMount puts your TV where you want it

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 25th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: hdtv mount mantlemount

Jon Peddie

Novel swing down design saves your neck When we got out 65-inch Vizio 4K TV we were proud, and delighted. It took two tries to get it mounted, resulting in having to rip out the wall and put in 2x4 studs, re-plaster and paint the wall. And then we watched

Autonomous’ Teleport VR camera lets you make 360 movies

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 24th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: virtual reality autonomous teleport

Jon Peddie

The associated headset lets you view them. The Autonomous Teleport lets you save and share videos in S3D. The Autonomous kit comes with smartphone headset and a dual-camera (for stereovision) module. The camera module captures at 720p HD, and is small enough to put in your pocket or purse.

Samsung GearVR is a great way to try VR

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 24th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: samsung vr virtual reality gearvr

Jon Peddie

Well designed, thought, and affordable Samsung gear is easy as can be to get started. Put in a phone, it tells you to download and install Gear app, then you just hit “Next” a couple of times and it does it all. Then you are asked to create

Lenovo 17-inch mobile workstation

Posted by Alex Herrera on March 16th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: intel workstation lenovo laptop xeon laptops skylake

Alex Herrera

Comparing a high-end mobile workstation with a low-end deskside

Samsung vs. others—we test the new S7 Edge

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 15th 2016 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags: qualcomm samsung smartphone s7 edge

Jon Peddie

U.S. Snapdragon 820 model  Samsung has recently released the long-awaited S7 Galaxy, with and without Edge display, and with U.S. and ROW processors. The U.S. version uses the Qualcomm Snapdragon 820, and the ROW version uses Samsung’s ARM-based Exynos 8890. We tested the Snapdragon version. We ran

How I learned to stop worrying and love the drought NOAA saves my yard and the state

Posted by Dr. Strangegarden on March 15th 2016 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

We have a small front yard, and a hillside of plants, mostly flowers for the bees. Not much, but enough that it needs watering. To do that we had the gardener put in a timer system for the seven sprinkler heads around the lawn. And then we had him adjust

Califorinium—you can be Philip K. Dick Puzzle game with gorgeous art and a touch of psychedeli

Posted by Jon Peddie on March 13th 2016 | Permalink
Categories:
Tags:

Jon Peddie

Developed by Darjeeling and produced by Nova Production and Arte France, Californium is a tribute to the life and works of sci-fi writer Philip K. Dick. Synopsis. It’s 1967, and you’re in Berkeley. You are Elvin Green, a writer whose career is as crappy as his sentimental

Reviewing two new Boxx workstations

Posted by Alex Herrera on March 8th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Alex Herrera

One that bends the traditional design mold ... and another that shatters it  We’re not going to lie. Reviewing one workstation after another can get a bit tiresome. Machines can start looking an awful lot alike, but that’s rarely the case when we review a Boxx

The more you can see . . . the more you can game

Posted by Jon Peddie on February 17th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: amd gaming nano megapixels

Jon Peddie

When playing a high-action first-person shooter (FPS) like Rise of the Tomb Raider, you want high resolution and a very wide field of view (FOV). In many games you can adjust the FOV either in the main screen’s options or in the games configuration .ini file, if you