Event[0] first impressions

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 21st 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: event[0] artificial intelligence

Jon Peddie

The AI isn’t very I  I spent many happy hours on a Commodore PET and a Radio Shack TRS80 playing Adventure, a reported version of the original Colossal Cave Adventure developed on the PDP-10 in 1976.  THE GAME PLAY was all text (no graphics) and pre-programmed. 

Game impressions

Posted by Jon Peddie on September 7th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Software Review,
Tags: nvidia gtx 1080 cat intersteller deus ex no man's sky

Jon Peddie

We looked at three new games— Deus Ex, No Man’s Sky, and Cat Interstellar—and tried them on the latest graphics AIBs Deus Ex: Mankind Divided Deus Ex: Mankind Divided (DEMD), one of the most hyped PC games this year, and the sequel to highly touted 2011

Kingston HyperX CloudX Pro Gaming headset

Posted by Ted Pollak on August 4th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Ted Pollak

Kingston invited us to their E3 party, and we were happy to tip a few back with their crew, whom we’ve run into from time to time. And since their door gift at the party was a headset, it seemed the least we could do to try it

Xbox Design Lab controller

Posted by Ted Pollak on August 4th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Ted Pollak

Microsoft recently invited us up to Redmond to get briefed on developments for their Xbox brand and let us kick the tires in the Xbox Design Lab to design our own custom Xbox controller.  Almost every component can be customized including the body, triggers, back, D-pad, thumb sticks, and

Is AMD better at DX12 than DX11?

Posted by Jon Peddie on July 18th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: rx 480 dx12 gtx 1080

Jon Peddie

Yes, but you can’t make a simple comparison

EVGA’s GTX 1070, coolest AIB around

Posted by Robert Dow on July 15th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: nvidia gpu pc gaming gtx 1070

Robert Dow

The Performance segment AIBs featuring Nvidia’s new Pascal processor were released June 10. Nvidia has been promising a 3X performance boost from the GTX 970, a faster clock, and more memory, all while consuming less power. Our friends at EVGA provided us with their version of the board, the EVGA

Can AMD change the rules with Polaris?

Posted by Robert Dow on July 5th 2016 | Discuss (0)
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Robert Dow

Company wants to start a revolution— democratization of VR In one of the most drawn-out product announcements in a long time, AMD has finally lifted the veil on the Polaris RX 4X0 series. The company is introducing three products in the series, all designed for the back-to-school

HP’s ZBook Studio G3

Posted by Alex Herrera on June 13th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: intel workstation hp

Alex Herrera

As 2015 came to a close, HP Inc. was busy following on the heels of Intel’s Skylake launch with a broad product refresh of its own, both upgrading and expanding on its line of ZBook mobile workstations. When it did, the company made it clear where it was focusing

Testing the Nvidia GTX 1080

Posted by Robert Dow on May 23rd 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags:

Robert Dow

Everything it promises to be and more In this week's issue of TechWatch we breakdown the new Nvidia Pascal GPU. We look at its new architecture and technical specs. In the this article we take a look at the testing data and compare the GTX 1080 vs. the GTX 980, Titan

MantelMount puts your TV where you want it

Posted by Jon Peddie on April 25th 2016 | Permalink
Categories: Hardware Review,
Tags: hdtv mount mantlemount

Jon Peddie

Novel swing down design saves your neck When we got out 65-inch Vizio 4K TV we were proud, and delighted. It took two tries to get it mounted, resulting in having to rip out the wall and put in 2x4 studs, re-plaster and paint the wall. And then we watched